You Put Bacon On What?!

So Delicious Dairy Free had a Facebook update Monday that triggered an interesting debate: Who is to blame for restaurants for creating and serving up high-calorie treats – the restaurants or the consumers?

What triggered the debate? The new offering by Burger King: A bacon sundae (the author of this story posed the question first).

Burger King’s new bacon sundae

What do you think about this new 510-calorie dessert? Does it sound tempting or disgusting?

And back to that first question: Who is to blame?

I think it’s the consumers’ fault. We say we want healthier options, yet Americans are still buy unhealthy food (the above link goes to an article that described KFC’s and Taco Bell’s successful launches of new high-calorie products). These fast food places are businesses and the bottom line is they want to make what people are buying.

Do you disagree with me? Should companies continue to come up with new healthier options even if consumers rarely buy them?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment