The Next Six Weeks

If I seem a little cranky, a little edgy, next week, forgive me. On Monday, my husband and I will start the six-week program called the The Blood Sugar Solution. It’s sort of a take-back-your-health sort of challenge, and one that we hope will give us some answers to nagging health problems no medical professional has been able to solve.

Image

It ought to be an interesting challenge. I’m careful, here, not to call it a diet. I don’t do diets. I do, however, love a good challenge.

The program is six weeks and only part of it focuses on what we eat (and that part basically follows the Michael Pollan’s premise: “Eat real food. Mostly plants.”). It’s not really a diet, but a start to a lifestyle change, particularly if you are on the road to diabetes. The program addresses fitness, relaxation, and a few other areas not necessarily related to food.

It’s nothing new to us, I’ve covered many of the same things in this book on this blog. With this program, we take what we do occasionally, and do it 100%. So, for the next six weeks we’re eating what might sound to you like a cross between the Paleo Diet and the Mediterranean Diet. Simply, it’s no gluten, no sugar, no processed foods, no alcohol, no caffeine. You get the picture.

So, going off caffeine, particularly, might be a little rocky for me at first. I ask forgiveness ahead of time.

We’re both excited about trying this program out and seeing what the results are. Of course, we’re expecting to see some good health changes, but I’m also hoping for some mental things to work out (more relaxed, more positive, more balanced).

I plan on blogging about the experience, so be sure to check back here. There could be some bumps along the way, but I hope for some sort of epiphany or two along with them. At the end, I can add back caffeine, some sugary treats, but maybe I will have learned I don’t need them all that much to enjoy life. What struck a chord with me in the book, and sort of egged me to do this thing, is that Dr. Mark Hyman asked readers to pause and think why they balked about cutting something out of their diet that is known to be bad for them. Made me wonder why I felt so clingy to, say. ice cream or a nice glass of red wine. Surely, I could leave those alone for six weeks and find a nice replacement that won’t make me feel cruddy after indulging. So, we’ll see. Maybe I will learn that I do, in fact, need a bowl of ice cream in my life on a regular basis to keep me grounded. Right?

One last note: If you have any quick gluten-free recipes, send them my way.

 

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Next Six Weeks

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I’m interested in seeing how this works out for you both. Can’t wait to read about it.

Leave a Reply

