Slippery slope

Two and a half weeks into the Blood Sugar Solution and I’m down 7 pounds! While I’m not doing this expressly to lose weight, I can’t help but be a little giddy. Wouldn’t you be giddy?

I’m happy though I have slipped a little. OK. A lot. It was another week of temptation for me. And, it was all my doing.

Apparently, once I have a taste of sugar, it’s all I can think about. The last few days at work, there’s a little devil sitting on my shoulder whispering “Snickers” into my ear. Repeatedly. And today, the newsroom staff had pizza. So I had pizza.

So in addition to needing to figure out how to get a better handle on my weekends, I need to just learn how to get a handle on every day occasions, too. With weekends, it’s not like my husband and I get crazy and eat pancakes every morning, pizza every night and ice cream whenever we damn well please (which would be more than once a day). But, we cheat. We cheat every weekend night. A little beer. A little ice cream.

It’s an addiction. We’re addicted to that carefree summer lifestyle that calls for a beer when you listen to music outdoors and some frosty, chocolatey goodness when the temperature hits 100. I was naïve to think that I could ignore those siren calls for six weeks.

Our little detours each weekend haven’t really hurt us, that we can tell. My husband feels so much better already. I feel pretty good, myself. And, I’m noticeably thinner, which I like, too. Energy levels are up for me, and I only need to rely on caffeine after the nights my kids wake up repeatedly. If they wake up only once each, I can get by. So that’s cool.

We’re doing good, but we can do better. Someone be the angel that sits on my shoulder and tells me to not give in to temptation? Anyone?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slippery slope

  1. Kevin Reiner says:

    Don’t give in to temptation.

  2. Jaclyn says:

    Wow! Good for you, Kim! 🙂 You already look super fab, so it’s crazy to think that you are down 7lbs. Keep up the good work. Ultimately, I believe, it’s all about feeling good inside and out. Eating right, making good choices about your nutrition, and of course being active. I always enjoy reading your blog and what you have to share. Happy Friday!!! 🙂

    • kareiner says:

      Thanks, Jaclyn! You’re right, it’s all about what makes you feel good inside and out. If I felt like crud, I’d stop following the Blood Sugar Solution, but I’m feeling pretty good.

Leave a Reply

