And… we’re off

In more ways than one.

Let’s start with the bad news. Both my husband and I fell off the Blood Sugar Solution bandwagon this weekend. I knew going into the weekend that I’d be put to the test with this health program we’re on. I wanted to be strong, but I was not.

Friday night was a social event, and we had some beer. The next morning, we ran the Warrior Dash with our brother-in-law, Dan (here’s where that beer was a real bad idea). After the race, we were hot, we were hungry, we were given very few choices. And we were give free beer. So, again, we didn’t make the best choices.

Grrr. Don’t judge me for eating that veggie burger after the race. I was hungry. I won’t apologize. (And, I won’t apologize for that free Miller Lite, either. It hit the spot.)

And Sunday was a big family gathering, with birthdays to celebrate, and I caved in and ate cake. And a few rum bars.

Now for the good news. We’re back on track this morning. I packed healthy food for us to take to work. And I already got my 3-mile run in for the day.

The best news of all is that it appears I’ve cleared the no-caffiene hurdle! I am wired this morning, getting all sorts of things done in the 3 1/2 hours I’ve been up. So, while clearly I need to work on the no-sugar and no-alcohol hurdles, I’ve got one under my belt.

This is Week 2 of the Blood Sugar Solution for us. This week we are to optimize our metabolism with nutritional supplements. My husband’s already has started taking all Dr. Hyman suggests. I have not. So, in addition to keeping an eye on my nutritional needs, I’m going to re-read the chapter and figure out what I should be taking.

I’m not real big on supplements since I come from the school that if you eat a balanced, colorful diet, you’ll get what you need. If anything, I’d take a multi-vitamin. But. I’ll hear him out. He does suggest a supplement called PGX (evidently, this is a Dr. Oz weight loss favorite). It’s a fiber supplement to curb your appetite. It helps my husband. I’m leery to take it since I’m breastfeeding still.

Anyone swear by the supplements they take? What makes a difference for you?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

