One Year After We Kicked Butt In Lincoln

A year ago, I ran a half-marathon with a big group of family (and friends who are like family). I was 20 weeks pregnant and felt like I was among an amazing team of new and seasoned runners.

Those runners had an interesting year since then and I thought I’d share it with my readers.

Let’s start with the guy that inspired the “I’m With Ron” team, my dad, Ron. Lately, the 61-year-old has been toying with the idea of doing a marathon, or maybe a half. We’re game for whatever. We’ll bust out the “I’m With Ron” shirts any day.

 My sister, Kelly, our Dad, and I

My brother-in-law, Dan, was back in Lincoln on Sunday, this time doing the full marathon, his first (Go, Dan! 4:37:35 is a time to be proud of!). My husband, son, dad, sister and I were among the hundreds of spectators cheering him on. The marathon was the crowning achievement of a full year of hard work. After the Lincoln half with us, he went on to set a PR at the Wichita half-marathon in October (1:59). He’s taking it easy, so to speak, and will do the Warrior Dash in July with me and my husband. He’s also planning on improving his 5K times and doing a half-marathon in the fall.

Dan’s first marathon, May 6, 2012

Dan’s wife, my big sis Kelly, had a roller coaster of a year since running her first half-marathon with our team. In August, she did her first triathlon!

Kelly, triathlon woman

She also did a few 5Ks. In January, she started Farrell’s Extreme Body Shaping … only to get sidelined with a stress fracture. After healing from that, she started  it again and shed a few inches, only to get knocked down by pneumonia. She started back on the program on Monday and is aiming to get lean and mean by December. Her goal is to drop four sizes by then.

My nephew, Austen, has been busy. He’s graduating high school this weekend and has spent the last year getting into Army-strong shape so that when he ships off to boot camp this summer, he’ll be ready. The kid is a machine.

Austen, not in his Army uniform

His mom, Jen, had been toying with the idea of doing a Tough Mudder race. Since the race in Omaha was canceled, she has yet to come up with an alternative. I’ll keep nagging her until she picks another race.

Kim, a family friend, has been training hard for the past year. She was all set for her first marathon in Nashville in April, only to come upon some rough moments on the course. She didn’t finish, but no doubt she will be back stronger for her next marathon attempt.

My cousin Kevin and his wife Mandy ran their first half-marathon with the team. If I’m not mistaken, it might have been their first foot race ever, even. They have been busy hauling their talented kids to all of their tournaments this past year. Maybe after their kids are able to drive themselves to their games, we shall see the two back on a race course. What do you guys think?

Friend to the team Jessica ran with us and since last May, she has been busting her butt to get into shape. She looks fabulous. I’m not sure of her secret. Maybe she’ll share here.

Shawna, another friend of ours, has also been busting her butt to get into shape, and recently ran the Wichita half-marathon with Dan … on her birthday. That’s dedication.

My sister-in-law, Amy, ran her first half-marathon with the team. She has been extremely busy with work this past year, but has decided that enough is enough and she’s eyeing a return back into the world of fitness.

My husband, Kevin, raced in his first triathlon – an Olympic distance race in Colorado – about a month after the Lincoln half last year. He did it raising money for Team in Training, which by itself is an accomplishment. But, the race was also what earned him his Triple Crown – an honor given to those who raise funds for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society by racing in three different endurance races.

Kevin, second on the right, with his TNT team. Grrr.

Since then, he has commuted to work by bike consistently and is planning on doing the Warrior Dash with Dan and I in July.

And then there’s me.

Well, since last May, this bump was born and has grown into this beautiful and strong little girl.

She and her brother keep me pretty busy and I have yet to do a race since the Lincoln half in 2011. However, I’m signed up to do the Warrior Dash in July and I’ve been working on my measly upper body strength in preparation. I’m also toying with the idea of doing the Color Me Rad 5K a week before the Dash because it just sounds fun, doesn’t it?

 

 

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to One Year After We Kicked Butt In Lincoln

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    Wow…so much has happened since the Lincoln Half last year. I’m amazed at how well we all did. Just looking back at our pictures and remembering the race brought back some good memories…and not so good memories. My right 2nd toe nail will never be the same….good times!
    In my attempts to get even fitter, I plan on racing in a few 5k’s, definitely the women’s triathalon again…and just possibly the Lincoln half for next year. As long as I can shed some more LB’s by then.
    I wonder if we’ll get anyone else to run the Lincoln half again…..

Leave a Reply

