Emotional Eating & How To Avoid It

Most people don’t talk about it much, but I’d venture to say that most of us have eaten food in response to an emotion at least once in our lives. Feeling sad, stressed, worried, whatever, you went to food for comfort.

Time blogger Alexandra Sifferlin wrote a short guide to avoiding this sort of emotional eating because “in the short-term, you’re likely to feel regret for binging; in the long-term, you may be setting yourself up for weight gain and related health problems. And spikes in consumption of junk food may end up worsening your mood overall.”
Check out the blog post here.

Her advice:
1.          Distract yourself. Suggestions include calling a friend, reading a magazine or knitting. For me, I find taking a walk helps.
2.          Keep a journal. I imagine this is why many people who were successful losing weight used a food journal.
3.          Practice mindful eating. I posted about this a while ago and I think it really works.
4.          Exercise regularly. Sifferlin interviewed a doctor who specifically recommended yoga.
5.          Get enough sleep. No kidding. I tend to overeat whenever I feel sleep-deprived (um, the last 8 months or so?). How about you?

What do you think of this list? Do you employ any of these tactics to stop yourself from eating when you aren’t really hungry?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Emotional Eating & How To Avoid It

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I’ve always been an emotional eater. But since starting “FXB” I’m eating 6 times a day…I’m just not hungry. The last 3 weeks have been really awful and there have been many times that I wanted food and I didn’t. It does help to distract yourself.

Leave a Reply

