Meatless Monday … Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

Let’s get it out on the table: This is not a healthy recipe. Not all vegan food is good for you. What this vegan recipe is, however, is delicious. I mean, it beat out the other cookies on the dessert table, it’s that good. If you’re a strict vegan, you’ll get ticked when the rest of the party eats all of your cookies and you have nothing to eat off the dessert table. They’re that good.

I’ve never been a vegan, but I had to go off dairy for a while when I was breastfeeding because my daughter tended to get splotchy when I had anything with dairy in it. Which was just about everything in my diet right after I had her – ice cream, chocolate and cookies.

I craved chocolate like you wouldn’t believe. When Thanksgiving rolled around, I needed something indulgent since I couldn’t have the pie. So, I found this recipe in “Vegan With a Vengeance” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz (who happens to have written my favorite cookbook “Veganomicon”).

It will knock your socks off. It will also knock you off the diet bandwagon, so eat in moderation.

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies (Vegan)

Courtesy of “Vegan With a Vengeance”

Makes 3 dozen cookies (or a lot more if you’re actually scooping them by teaspoonfuls)

1 cup nonhydrogenated margarine, at room temperature

1 ¼ cups sugar

1 tablespoon molasses

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

2 ½ cups all-purpose flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon salt

1 ½ cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Cream together the margarine and sugar until fluffy. Add the molasses and vanilla. Add the flour, baking soda and salt, and mix well. Fold in the chocolate chips. Drop by teaspoonfuls spaced a little over 2 inches apart onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes, until ever so slightly browned. Let cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

