Zimmern Eats Donkeys?

Here’s a hot topic on food that I’m curious to hear what others think about: Expanding the American taste palate. The host of “Bizarre Foods,” Andrew Zimmern, touched off a bit of a heated online debate when he listed five foods that can change the world on one of Eatocracy’s 5@5 weekly posts.

Before listing the five foods Americans should try to add into their diet, he said “You can change the world one plate at a time. If we can take better advantage of the global pantry and eat from a wider variety of choices we would do more to combat food poverty, our damaged food production system, obesity and other systemic health and wellness issues than any one single act I can imagine. Here are some suggestions, but be creative. It works.”

Take a look at his suggestions: Donkey, little fish, your own vegetables, game bird and offal.

What do you think of what he writes about each? Do you agree with Zimmern?

No surprise, probably, that I whole-heartedly agree that eating your own vegetables or those that are locally grown is a wonderful idea. Whatever you get locally is going to be fresher than what you’ll find in the grocery store and often it’s the same price (or cheaper).

As for donkeys and the like, I see Zimmern’s point. If you’re an omnivore, like most of the world, expanding your palate is going to spread the dining dollars around and make meals more exciting. Are you an adventurous eater? Are you a horse-lover who is insulted by his suggestion? Share your thoughts below.

Though I eat mostly vegetarian these dyas, I’ve had some of the things he mentions: Goat (not bad, not bad), tongue (great, in all honesty), bison (pretty good), pigs ear (probably not bad but I was so squeamish as a 16-year-old, I couldn’t bring myself to eat much more than a sliver) blood sausage (bleh) and several small fish. They’re not as scary as they sound – except for blood sausage. <shutter>

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

