Let The Races Begin!

The slightly warmer days and melting snow mean one thing to me: Spring’s almost here. And spring for many people means the start of race season. I have my eye on a women’s tri in June, and I’ve signed up for my first-ever Warrior Dash in July.

If you’re thinking of signing up for a race, but swim-bike-run or running through fire doesn’t sound like fun, here are a few others to think about.

An annual favorite of mine is the St. Patty’s Day 5K. This year, the day falls on a Saturday, which makes downing a beer or two after the race more practical (at least for an old person like me). This year’s race in Omaha starts at 6 p.m. on the river front … which is, oh, about a mile or so away from the Dubliner. Just sayin’. Oh, and do not forget to wear green. Get more details here.

If you remember my post from last year, it was a lot of fun. I plan on dressing warmer and wearing more green this year.

If you’re looking for a spring fundraising run/walk, I just saw something about the UNO Women’s Walk & Run on April 21, which raises money for UNO Women’s Athletics. I can’t find much details about it just yet, but it’s on the campus. More details should pop up on UNO’s website.

If you’re looking for something a little tougher, the 7K Mud Sweat and Beers might be up your alley. It’s May 19 on a hilly golf course outside of Omaha. Word is the trail has been made walker friendly. Super hero costumes are encouraged.

Those are just three on the radar. What have you signed up for?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

