The Big Chew

NPR covers so much content – news, books, funny hats – so for a blogger like me, I get excited when I hear something about food on there (like 32-layer bean dips and  don’t even get me started on The Splendid Table).

Anyway, NPR recently covered a new study that showed how mindful eating can lead to weight loss. I saw this in action years ago when my sister and mom began a habit of taking their time eating. At the time, I gently mocked it because it just didn’t seem to me that it would help all that much.

Tsk tsk.

It does.

The study published in the Journal of Nutrition Education and Behavior found that women were eating 297 fewer calories per day after completing the program. And they lost, on average, about 2.2 pounds.

Curious? NPR included a mindful eating exercise on their website. Try it out. Let me know what you learned.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

