What Should I Eat?

I’m kinda like that annoying friend who “discovers” something about two years after the fact. I’m not as bad as a friend’s husband who recently discovered “Sgt. Pepper’s Lonely Hearts Club Band” but I am close. I’m due to “Twilight” soon.

So, true to fashion, I just finished reading a great book that’s been out for a while. It’s such an easy and quick book to read, that you might not realize how life-changing it could be. Michael Pollan’s “Food Rules: An Eater’s Manual” came out in 2009, and last year, it was rereleased in a snazzy and bright new illustrated version (courtesy of drawings by Maira Kalman).

This book simply answers the question “What should I eat?” It’s so easy to get overwhelmed by the latest scientific study that just dispelled a food truth, and it’s hard to keep track of which superfood of the week is going to save your heart.

And that’s why I like this book. It keeps it simple. There are very few scientific words to digest here. Pollan has collected sayings you’ve probably heard your grandma say as well as some popular wisdom that no one knows where it originated but we all know it. These sayings have been condensed into 83 rules to live by.

This book isn’t necessarily for the foodie out there, though it does celebrate food (and allows for the occasional indulgence, be it a cheesy poof or chocolate cake, and don’t worry carnivores, meat isn’t off limits). If you want to lose weight, reduce your risk of heart disease or you merely want your kids to be able to identify vegetables, then you’ll want to read this book.

It took me about two hours to finish it, so you have time for it. But, if you’re just not a “book person,” then I’ll clue you in on the general idea of the book. Follow this and you’ll be a healthier person: Eat food. Not too much. Mostly plants.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

