Meatless Monday: Dairy-Free Mashed Potatoes

I’m on a dairy-free diet right now, thanks to a possible intolerance my 2-month-old might have to the stuff. I slip up and she gets all splotchy and vomits like an adorable Linda Blair.

So, it’s going to make Thanksgiving tricky. It already is since I don’t eat meat. What’s a girl to do? Well, I’m bringing more than one dish to each family gathering so I can be sure I have something to eat (and without a doubt, I will be bringing dairy-free dessert to each dinner!).

Most people would say Thanksgiving isn’t Thanksgiving without turkey. I haven’t been like most people for more than a decade. To me, the holiday isn’t right without mashed potatoes. It would be tough to see my family digging into some spuds if I didn’t have some on my plate. So, I’m bringing my own (I’ll share).

This recipe is pretty straight-forward and pretty good. You aren’t missing a thing with the dairy-free ingredients. This makes for a happy mama and a happy nursing baby.

The recipe comes courtesy of “Veganomicon: The Ultimate Vegan Cookbook” by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero. The authors recommend Idaho potatoes to get the light, fluffy kind; for a dense, creamy mash, use a waxy, thin-skinned potato like red or Yukon Gold.

The ladies also offer up a way to make this lower in fat: Reduce the margarine to 1 tablespoon (or omit entirely) and replace half or all of the soy milk with warm, reserved potato-cooking liquid. If you want to add a little somethin’ somethin’ to the mash, mix in 2 to 3 tablespoons of the following with the margarine: pesto, finely chopped chives, parsley, roasted garlic.

Mashed Potatoes

Serves 4-6 people

2 pounds potatoes

2-4 tablespoons margarine

1/2 cup soy, rice or oat milk (for best results, use unsweetened)

2 teaspoons salt

Ground white pepper or black pepper

Fill a large pot with water, leaving enough room for the potatoes. Add the salt to the water.

Wash your potatoes and peel them (or don’t), cut them into 1-inch chunks, and add them to the water. Bring the whole thing to a boil, then reduce to simmer until the potatoes are soft (about 15-20 minutes). Drain.

Put the drained potatoes back in the pot or in a bowl, add the margarine, and mash with a potato masher or heavy-duty spoon. Add the soy milk or potato-cooking water and mash till desired consistency. Taste and add a little more margarine or soy milk if desired. Salt and pepper to taste.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

