Routine? What Routine?

Ahhhh. That dry skin the itches even after you put lotion on it. That faint whiff of chlorine.

Yes, I jumped back in the pool today. It’s been a long time since I last swam, and it showed. But, it felt good (even if the skinny old lady next to me walked away from the pool hobbling less than I did).

Since I got the OK from my midwife to resume workouts, I have tried a little of everything these past three weeks: Yoga, Body Pump (ouch), running, walking, swimming and weight lifting. I even did some manual labor involving moving every item out of our basement and into our garage.

I thought by now I’d have a maternity leave workout routine, but it has never solidified. It’s not for lack of options at the YMCA. I enjoyed the classes, I like the quiet cardio room and I really liked my swim today. It’s just, for a number of reasons, I haven’t hammered out a schedule. I likely won’t have one until I return to work and I’m forced on to a schedule. My days revolve around the sleep schedule of a boy entering his Terrible Twos – if I make it into the gym without dealing with a full-fledged melt down (from him or me), I feel lucky.

For those that stay at home, do you have a daily or weekly routine for getting your workouts in? For those that go in to work, what is your routine? Everyone – when is the best time of day to work out for you? I like working out in the mornings now, but once I am back to work, it will be late afternoons for me.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Routine? What Routine?

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    Mornings are great if I can get out of bed. That hasn’t happened since May after the half-marathon we ran. Now it’s during work hours with one of the free YMCA classes they offer. I really do miss my water aerobics classes, but since the base changed the time, I can’t go. I’ve thought about trying to go for a circuit training class a few times at the base gym as well.
    Good luck with a schedule. It sucks, but you gotta make time for yourself…(I should be taking my own advice)!

Leave a Reply

