Solving The Mid-Week Meal Problem

“Midweek meals.” For a working person, these can often get monotonous. Do you have a go-to meal you have in the bag that requires minimal effort? Mine is some variation of pasta and marinara sauce. Maybe I’ll saute some mushrooms to fancy it up, or use ravioli, or throw some sort of leftover in the sauce.

It’s boring. I know it. But, it beats fast food, right?

Chef Aaron Wright from The Tavern at Lark Creek offers some tips to the readers of eatocracy.com to perk up these midweek meals (He also provided a recipe that sounds pretty good).

Here they are, simplified:
1. Plan ahead, and keep a stock of flavorful dressings, sauces, desserts.

2. Hit the farmers market with your dinner companion(s) and shop for ingredients that you can cook together.

3. Fire up the grill and cook the whole meal on it.

4. Decide to get adventurous.

5. Great seafood, steaks and poultry cooked properly only need a light accompaniment to really wow your palate.

I’ve attempted most of these things on the list, though I’m still in the test phase of the “plan ahead” one. I’m thinking of making pesto and homemade marinara to freeze to use this fall/winter. Do you have recipes for either of these you can recommend, or better yet, do you have a suggestion another sauce I could make and freeze?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

