Money Saving Tips For Eating Healthy

So, apparently, I have one messed up week and it takes me at least twice as long to get back into the swing of things. I promise to have Meatless Monday back up next week.

——-

Eating healthy can be expensive. A 10-pack of ramen will cost you less than a pound of apples. I remember my post-college grocery shopping receipts – how cheap it was to buy packs of canned soup, generic cereal and, to be healthy, a 5-pound bag of potatoes.

Those were also my heavier days. My unhealthier days.

The My Plate guidelines are helpful, but as some have pointed out, they’re not really practical if you are on a fixed or limited income. Our local paper was one of many media outlets that have recently addressed the cost of healthy diets.

But, there are ways to save when it comes to eating healthy. In the World-Herald article I mentioned above and at the bottom of this time.com blog post, there are a few suggestions to make things a little more budget-friendly.

I want to know your strategies, though. How do you buy healthy food without wracking up an atrocious bill? Please post your tips!

I’ll share some of my suggestions:
–          Buy in bulk. If you don’t have a membership card to a place like Costco, find a friend or family member who does and shop with them. You can buy 25 pounds of brown rice for cheap, as well as healthy staples in bulk like lentils/beans, unsalted nuts and whole wheat pasta and grains like quinoa.
–          Make your own stock. I’ve posted about this before. You can save a lot of money by turning your discarded veggie peels (and if you’re not a vegetarian, chicken bones, etc.) into stock for soup and other recipes. It costs you nothing since the peels and other veggies you use were just going to be discarded anyway.
–          Buy in season. The more you frequent the produce section of your local grocery store, the more you’ll start to notice when a particular fruit goes on sale. Berries, for instance, tend to be cheaper these days. In the winter? They’re ridiculously expensive AND they taste horrible. Buy them now, freeze them, and save your dough this winter. You might have noticed corn has gotten cheaper, and soon, you’ll see an abundance of squash on sale. Better yet, you may find a lot of these summer fruits and veggies have gotten cheaper at the farmers market.

All right. Now it’s your turn. How do you save money on healthy food?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

