If You Want 100%, Squeeze It Yourself

My household is brand loyal to a particular orange juice. It’s 100% juice, so you know, it’s better than some concoction of cheaper stuff. Right?

Well…

Turns out that even though my juice is still factually 100% juice, it also happens to be it’s still 100% artificially flavored. All of them are. Gizmodo let me in on the dirty little secret here.

So, it’s not really the specific brand of juice that I crave, it’s just the flavor pack they use that I love so much. <sigh> Why does everything have to be ruined by science?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to If You Want 100%, Squeeze It Yourself

  1. Now I am really bumming. I have long been a lover of Simply Orange, suckered in by their name, the way the juice visibly “settles” in the plastic carton, and the idea that I was paying more for, well, better juice!

    Now I am hooked on Charlie’s Honest Squeezed Orange Juice based out of Auckland, New Zealand. They state that their only ingredients are “squeezed orange juice and vitamin C”… I will be doing some investigating. Especially since for the first (and likely last) time in my life I have a tree FULL of oranges in my back yard ripe and ready for the picking!

    Thanks for the info. Even if it did break my heart a little…

Leave a Reply

