Look Like A Wine Pro Even When You’re Not

I guess I’m in the mood for wine. Wine that I cannot have for a while longer.

Does this woman know what she’s doing or is she faking it?

Not too long ago, I wrote about a funny post that tried to decipher wine labels. I read a few tips the other day about picking wine and it made me think that maybe my earlier post wasn’t as helpful as I’d wanted it to be.  So, I’m going to try to be a little more helpful with my suggestions.

If you’re still overwhelmed by wine, here’s a helpful link to five tips on “How to look like a wine pro when you’re not.”

In it Harley Carbery, a graduate of the International Sommelier Guild and wine director for Joël Robuchon in Las Vegas, gives a friendly tutorial that I think is beneficial to most people.

Here’s a quick rundown, though read the article to get all the details:

1. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. Also, don’t be afraid to ask for recommendations; the restaurant sommelier knows the list and the food far better than you.

2. It’s all in the grip
“Now remember this one: DO NOT hold the glass by the bowl (the part of the glass that holds the wine). Hold the glass by the stem; it’s there for a reason….”

3. Get the picture
… “Take pictures of the bottles of wine you do and do not enjoy.”

4. Educate yourself

5. Sharing is caring

If your memory is terrible or you have no time for a one-hour intro to wine class, just go with #1 when dealing with all things wine. I have been introduced to my favorite wines by these recommendations from people who know a whole lot more than me. I’ve gotten the best recommendations from La Bouvette and Spirit World in Omaha. If you need to get a bottle of wine to impress (at any price range) head to either of those two places for a good recommendation.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

