Your First Triathlon

Omaha ladies, remember that one time I mentioned a non-competitive triathlon that would make the perfect first-time event? Well, it’s coming up. The tri is Aug. 27, with the first wave of participants swimming at 8 a.m. It takes place in West Omaha at Wehrspann Lake/Chalco Hills Recreation Area, 8901 S. 154th St.

(Yes, I said lake. You’ll swim in a lake. It’s fun. It’s liberating. I promise.)

This is a great event for those new to sports in general and those new to triathlons. It’s not timed and you won’t have any hard-core Iron Men running you over at any portion of the course. It is also a perfect fitness event to bring young girls to – they are invited to participate with you.

The swim is a 100-yard swim (think, two to four laps in a pool). Open water may seem scary, but the race is done in small heats, so you won’t feel crowded. You are allowed to bring whatever you need to get you through the triangular course – wet suit, kickboard, pull buoy, life jacket, whatever. And you can swim however you want.

The bike ride is a 2-mile loop, so you can set your own distance of 2 miles, 4 miles or 6 miles. It’s a little hilly out there but it is nothing you can’t handle. Use any bike you want, but make sure you wear a helmet.

The walk/run portion is an out and back course on a trail, so again, you can set your own distance of a ½ mile, mile or 1 ½ miles. Nothing is timed during this entire event, so walk or run however you want. It’s mostly flat, though I remember if you do the full 1 ½ miles, there is an incline – very manageable – right near the turn-around point.

The tri also offers the option of forming a team. Teams consist of three people, one person to do each leg (adult or youth). If your daughter forms a team and you want to swim/bike/run whatever leg she is doing, you will need to register as well.

Entry fee is $20, and before you balk, it goes to a good cause. All proceeds go to the UNOmaha Women’s Swimming and Diving Team to assist with their travel during the 2011-12 season. I believe each individual on a team must pay the entry fee. Be sure to register before Aug. 17; the price goes up to $30.

Below, you’ll find jpegs of the registration information, but if you can’t print it out or you just want a copy from the actual registration flyer, track me down and I can make a copy for you.


I hope some of you consider doing this triathlon. I swear it is not at all competitive, it’s just fun. It’s a bunch of women and girls outside being active. I know triathlons are intimidating, and you’ll feel jitters the morning of the event. But, I promise the organizers and participants are so welcoming, you’ll forget the jitters as soon as you hit the water.

When it’s all said in done, you’ll be able to tell everyone you competed in a triathlon. How many people do you know who can say that?

Want a training plan to get you a little prepped for the tri? Check this out.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Training Plans I Like, Triathlon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Your First Triathlon

  1. Kelly says:

    I’m signing up this week! I’m excited and nervous.

  2. kareiner says:

    I’m so glad you are! When you come to get my bike, Kevin will take you for a ride and show you how to shift gears and everything.

Leave a Reply

