The Hunt For Good Food

Has anyone ever foraged for the next meal? I’ve heard of mushroom hunters in the area, but that’s about it.

But, there’s a whole other level of foraging out there. Anita Hamilton wrote an article for time.com about urban foraging. This seems a bit like a big city phenomenon, though someone can correct me if I’m wrong.

Photo courtesy ecosalon.com from an article that also happens to be about foraging for food.

What are your thoughts on it? Ever tried it?

I like the idea, but I just don’t know if I have the follow-through. I think I’d love to have someone show me the ropes of mushroom hunting, but from what I’ve gathered (read “Omnivore’s Dilemma” to get an idea), people are pretty secretive when it comes to where the good stuff grows.

For the adventurous who want to try foraging, here are some links that were provided in the article, and some I found while looking at these links:

Foraging Pictures – The name pretty much explains everything: It’s pictures of what you can forage and eat.

A Round Up of Wild And Foraged Food – Another well-chosen site name.

Neighborhood Fruit – Sign up at this site and you might discover where you can locally score some food

Happy hunting!

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

