That’s Great And All, But It’s Still Processed Food

Here’s an interesting thing I learned today: Kraft has gone stealth with its traditional mac & cheese. Apparently, Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Dinner Veggie Pasta hit the shelves of some stores last month. A serving of the orange pasta provides a half-serving of cauliflower.

I’m torn about how I feel about this. Yes, it’s at least trying to make something that’s completely bad for you be slightly less bad for you. But, you could add REAL cauliflower and reap a whole lot more health benefits to the dish. Or, get really wild, and make your own version of mac n cheese – with added veggies – and cut out all the sodium and other processed crud that’s thrown into a box of Kraft Mac & Cheese.

But, still, some nights you just want that orange stuff. In which case, grab the box with the added cauliflower to at least feel less guilty.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to That’s Great And All, But It’s Still Processed Food

  1. Lauren H. says:

    I freeze small batches of veggie purees that I throw into crap-food like this for my kids when I just need a quick dinner. Cauliflower & zucchini is completely colorless and tasteless. My kiddos gobble it up!

  2. Brian W. says:

    If more parents would take the time to teach some cooking basics to their kids (yeah – I know that a lot of parents don’t even have those skills) then kids would learn that a lot of basic cooking techniques take no longer than defrosting and reheating pre-packaged crap. Plus – just as in many other aspects of life, there’s a pride and joy to having made something yourself and slowing down to take the time and do something instead of always rushing onto the next thing.

Leave a Reply

