My Birthday Post

There was an inspiring guy on my husband’s Team in Training triathlon team. Not only was he in his late 60s and competing in a triathlon, but he was on his way to a triple Triple Crown for TNT (meaning, he’s done a century ride, triathlon and marathon/half-marathon three times each, all the while fundraising for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society).

So the guy means business.

What got me thinking about him is that today’s my birthday and this awesome athlete shared with my husband and I how he spent his previous birthdays. He swam 68 laps in the pool – 2 miles – to mark one day. The year before that, he biked 67 miles to another town.

I hadn’t given much thought to doing anything athletic on my birthday. I booked a pregnancy massage and I have tickets to see Daniel Tosh tonight, and then that’s about it.

I’d never thought about celebrating my birthday in that way, but it’s not a bad idea.

What do you think? If you prepared for it, what would you do to mark your special day? Would you do something by bike or in the pool or on a trail? Or do you think you’d do something even crazier – pick some sort of “extreme” challenge for you birthday?

Let your imagination roam and post here what you’d do. I’d like some ideas for my next birthday.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking, General Fitness, Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My Birthday Post

  1. Kevin Reiner says:

    I’ll eat 35 donuts.

  2. ticha rohan says:

    ‘no man can eat 35 donuts!’

  3. ticha rohan says:

    happy birthday!
    how about a flight of stairs for each year?

  4. Kelly Robinson says:

    I think i might try to swim 33 laps. Shouldn’t be too hard.

Leave a Reply

