When Did You Decide To Change?

Hey everyone, I’m back from a nice extended weekend in the Rockies. Now, time to get back to the blog life…

I was reading John “The Penguin” Bingham’s account of the morning his life changed – the morning he learned he wanted to be a runner. It probably was a tough run, being in Seattle and all, but it was the start of something great. He’s been running (or waddling) for 20 years now and has more marathons tucked under his belt than most of us could ever dream of having.

In this September 2005 photo, I had no idea what sort of athletic endeavors were waiting for me.

Can you remember the day you decided you were going to be a runner, a biker, a triathlete or <insert sport here>?

I can remember the day when I decided I had to do something different. I’d recently moved into my first apartment located in the Old Market of Omaha and I had all these fantasies of becoming a hot, fit 20-something – I dug up my old soccer ball, found a Frisbee (still haven’t used it), got some running shoes.

One of my family’s exchange students returned to Omaha for a visit and the two us decided to go on a run downtown. It was laughable. It couldn’t have been more than a mile and I was d-o-n-e. I walked an embarrassing amount for someone supposedly in the prime of her life.

So, I decided I had to change. If I was going to be the hot young thing I envisioned, I had to do something more than dream about it. First, I decided I had to be able to run more than a city block. I found a walk-to-run program at runnersworld.com and started there.

It was too long after I got the running part down that I set the lofty goal of finishing a marathon (before I’d even done a 5K or half-mary). That was about eight years and countless races ago.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

