Inspirational Story: One Foodie And His Weight Battle

Photo courtesy cnn.com

Doug Skinner is proof you can be a foodie and still maintain a healthy weight. He wasn’t always proof though. He talked to CNN about the challenges he faced when he realized that at 300 pounds, something had to change.

It’s a good read and highlights why hitting a goal weight doesn’t mean the challenge is over. Skinner’s weight goes up and down and admits “it’s a constant fight.”

Skinner says: “There’s no way I’m going to sit at a Thanksgiving table and not eat anything … I consider myself a foodie and for as long as I live I will never have that type of [fear] relationship with food – I enjoy it too much. I will not deprive myself because of a pound or two.”

Can you relate to this? I can. Depriving yourself of some of the best things in life – say chocolate, for some, cheese for others – is no fun, and it really just sets yourself up for a fall. Moderation is key. Have some ice cream, but don’t eat the whole pint.

What helps Skinner keep his weight in check is movement – every step counts, he says. “The thing that’s worked best for me is getting off my butt,” Skinner tells CNN.

What has worked for you?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Nutrition, Real People Doing Cool Things and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Inspirational Story: One Foodie And His Weight Battle

  1. Krystal S says:

    Great article!

Leave a Reply

