You Knew It Was True: Take It Easy On The Nutella

It still surprises me when I meet a person who has never had Nutella. Such a depraved life, I say to myself silently.

Glorious photo courtesy of shitmykidsruined.com

I don’t know why it surprises me. Someone had to introduce it to me, so I was once among those unfortunate souls. (see a kid who discovered the joy of it early here and here)

But, it’s sinfully delicious and you must try it.

Go to a grocery store, scour the peanut butter and jelly aisle and find that little jar with a white lid tucked somewhere a shelf or two down from eye-level. It’s there. Consider it a treasure hunt.

What made me think of it? Monica Bhide recently talked about her love of Nutella on NPR, and if you read it online, you also find some recipes to accompany her story. It’s a love story to Nutella, really.

Now, let me clarify that this isn’t a health food. If you catch a commercial for it or read the jar, it may state that this makes for a balanced breakfast (just as, say, Fruit Loops might).

Nah. This is a treat for special occasions. Not for breakfast. Not for daily consumption.

It may be made of hazelnuts and skim milk – oh, think of the protein! – but, it also contains 21 grams of sugar per serving and 11 grams of fat. That’s a lot. The first ingredient on the ingredients list is sugar. You can find several websites that bring to light the contents of beloved Nutella. Here is one of them.

I still love Nutella. It’s one of life’s great culinary joys in my book. But, for my fellow Nutella fiends out there, consume it in moderation.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to You Knew It Was True: Take It Easy On The Nutella

  1. Kelly says:

    Okay, so I should stop spreading it on my eggo waffles every morning as I head out the door to work? Hmmm….Ill have to rethink my breakfast on mornings that I get outt of bed late.
    Nutella is so yummy I have not wanted to look at the label. Ijsut know it’s 5 WW points per serving…which is 2 TB.

  2. Monica Bhide says:

    Thanks for this sweet post and for the “moderation” note. I am working on an essay on that very topic. I think everything in moderation is a good thing! Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

