Runners World Takes On Cancer

Me at the finish line of my first triathlon, sporting that TNT purple jersey and bracelet.

If you’ve been keeping up with this blog, from time to time you may have noticed I mention Team in Training. This organization not only helped me finish my first marathon, it helped me gain the confidence to tackle triathlons and century rides. And, best of all, it gave me a sense of purpose.

So, you can see why I got excited when I heard that one of eight covers of Runner’s World special issue on “Outrunning Cancer” in July features a runner wearing a Team in Training shirt. The more Team in Training – and any nonprofit working hard to raise money to find a cure for cancer – the better in my book.

New York Daily News blogger Lauren Johnston wrote about marathoner/cancer survivor Angela Alleyne and her amazing story. She told Runner’s World she picked Team in Training because “they promised to turn a woman who could barely run for the bus into a woman who could run a marathon.” Sounds familiar.

It gets better. There is another cover runner sporting the Team in Training jersey! TNT Coach Lyle Jacon is also a cover model! According to Jacon, “Cancer woke me up. It led me to TNT, and my life is better because of it.”

If you don’t have a subscription, you can read all of the inspiring stories here. For stories on the inspiring athletes on each of the eight covers, go here. And, if you’re curious about Team in Training, check out the story Runners World did on it for the special section here.

I’m not a TNT athlete at the moment, for obvious and growing reasons. But, my husband is. If you want to donate to the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society through his secure Team in Training fundraising page, I urge you to do so now. His goal is to raise $3,000, and his race is coming up (he’s doing his first triathlon ever with the help of TNT).

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running, Triathlon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

