Biking With A Bump

I don’t bike a lot these days. It’s not that my belly gets in the way yet, it’s just so unbelievably hot already. But, if it were a normal spring, I’d try to get out there more.

 

My latest bike ride was at 23 weeks pregnant. That jersey isn’t going to fit much longer.

On pregnancy forums I belong to, I occasionally come across a post asking if it’s safe to bike while pregnant. Each pregnancy is different, so a doctor’s approval is needed before you hop on your trusty two-wheeler. However, generally speaking, it is safe for those without medical issues.

The big concerns with biking is maintaining balance and hydration. Check this link out from Pregnancy Today for tips on biking. Concerns about balance and hydration are addressed here.

What are the benefits of being active and riding a bike?

“Studies consistently show that the more fit you become, the more fit your fetus is for labor and delivery. Women who exercise regularly during pregnancy are less likely to have Cesarean deliveries or require other medical interventions (like artificial rupture of membranes or forceps) during delivery. And their babies are less likely to show signs of stress (such as meconium) during labor.
“Biking works the big muscle groups in your legs, back and abdomen. In this way, it helps to tone those muscles, and you’ll notice the payoff with improved posture, better back support, less back pain and improved flexibility and strength for delivery.”

Sounds good, right?

You don’t have to buy maternity bike shorts to ride, either. I bought some during my first pregnancy and wore them only once before my belly got the better of me. This time around, I wore just bigger workout shorts (with a drawstring to make it more comfortable) on an outing when I was 5 ½ months along, and those suited me fine. If I plan on going on a longer ride – ha, fat chance – I might put on those padded maternity shorts. But, if you don’t have the budget, don’t get the maternity shorts.

Happy trails to all those sporting a bump but wanting to ride.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

