Making Your Marathon A ‘Destination Marathon’

My philosophy when it comes to running 26.2 miles? If you’re going to subject your body to that distance, you might as well enjoy the view.

The Honoluluadvertiser.com had this picture of a crowd of walkers during a recent Honolulu Marathon. This destination race is a very walker-friendly event.

My two marathons are considered “destination marathons,” and I highly recommend making your race a destination spot if you have the means.

Medill Reports Chicago published a story about destination marathons.

My hero, John “The Penguin” Bingham, is in the video for this story, along with Jenny Hadfield. The duo explain the appeal of running destination races. For Bingham, it’s the novelty offered by touring city neighborhoods among a crowd. For Hadfield, it’s running through picturesque settings like Alaskan backcountry or wine country minus the crowd.

Some of the destinations mentioned at the end are exotic enough to make me reconsider my “never again” marathon stance. How about you?

But before you browse through some of the destinations – Great Wall, Big Sur, Duluth – read this article on what it takes to prep for one of these bad boys.

It does take planning and some self-restraint. First of all, if you’re flying anywhere, you want to be sure you’re well hydrated by race day (but not too hydrated). Know the weather of your destination. Also, hold off on that grand walking tour of the city before your big race … and you’d better hold off doing it the day after your race, too.

In the article, the authors suggest taking it easy the day after your race. You’ll want to move around some, but not a whole lot. The day after my first marathon – the Honolulu Marathon – I spent a good portion of it in a convertible touring the island. I highly recommend this ultracool way to travel. Walking on the beach a day after a marathon? Not as cool.

Marathoners, what are some tips you have for “destination marathons”?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

