Chef: Five Things You Should Know How To Make From Scratch

Coming on the heels yesterday’s post about the “100 Days of Real Food Challenge,” I found this practical and fitting article on eatocracy.com.


Spike Gjerde, executive chef and co-owner of Baltimore’s Woodberry Kitchen, shared a list of “Five Things You Really Should Be Making From Scratch.” The handy thing about this list is that he tells you how to make each of them. They’re easier than you think:

Here’s Gjerde’s Five From-Scratch Musts:
1. Mayonnaise
2. Whipped cream
3. Vinaigrette
4. Salsa
5. Iced tea

Looking at his list, I’m a little proud to say my family is holding its own when it comes to making things from scratch. I like to make my own salad dressing – you won’t find any store-bought stuff in our fridge. Salsas in the summer (or if a recipe calls for it) are also an easy one I like to make. And my husband, he makes some mean whipped cream – you’ve haven’t had strawberry shortcake until you’ve had it with the real stuff.

What easy-to-make stuff is in your repertoire?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Chef: Five Things You Should Know How To Make From Scratch

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    Can you share some of those made-from scratch recipes?…ok, mainly the whipped cream.

  2. Ticha says:

    Kind of along the same lines as those already mentioned — pesto!
    I bought a HUGE plant from Trader Joes that is headed in that direction.

Leave a Reply

