Stay Back When A Pregnant Woman/Runner Eats

So, a male runner recently compared running to being pregnant in a funny blog called On the Bus … And Running.


How can this dude, you ask, know what it’s like to be pregnant?

He’s been observing a pregnant co-worker eat.

“As I sat there and watched her shovel eat, it reminded me of when I first started training for the Vermont Marathon back in 2009. I’d entered new mileage levels and all I wanted the day after my long run was a sausage and egg sandwich on an English muffin with a little ketchup. Had to have it. No questions asked.”

Yeah, I suppose he has a point.

I ate an incredible, an astonishing amount of food when I trained for marathons. And looking back at my first pregnancy, I ate a lot too. So far in this pregnancy, I haven’t had any major binges, but there’s a lot more baby growing to do, so look out.

Anyway.

In both situations, my dietary desires were guided by impulse, but there was one difference. During a long run, I had hours to think about what I’d eat when I was finished. In pregnancy, it was mere seconds – some days, my animal instincts took over and I had to turn the steering wheel immediately in order to not miss the turn for whatever fast food joint was calling my name suddenly.

The guy writes: “The old adage goes: Give your body what it wants. For me, it was the sausage, egg, and cheese, a brownie fudge sundae, and, lately, yes, beef jerky. For her, we’re riding in the car to go get Starbucks when she says, ‘I’m hungry, but I want something healthy.’ So, we drive around the parking lot, when she saw it… ‘Pizza! she blurted out.
‘“That’s healthy?” I asked.
‘“That’s what my baby wants, that’s what she’s getting.’
“Replace ‘pizza,’ with Chipotle, Baja Fresh, Five Guys, carrots, Subway, blueberries, Hot Fries (remember Hot Fries?), and … you get the idea. The woman is a culinary mad libs.”

Yeah, that’s about right for me, too (pregnant and/or running).

There are other similarities, I suppose.

For instance, pregnancy is like running a marathon: Parts of it are tough on the body, parts of it are amazing, sometimes you feel like throwing up, sometimes you really really need to use the port-a-potty, and the end is totally worth all of the effort.

Can you think of any other similitaries?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Stay Back When A Pregnant Woman/Runner Eats

  1. Ticha says:

    Right when you cross the finish line/ deliver the baby, you can’t fathom doing another one. But not so long after that you start getting that hankering…

Leave a Reply

