What Fast Food Companies Won’t Tell You

I was a little reluctant to click on the link to Salon.com story titled “10 Things Fast Food Companies Won’t Say.” What if the story mentioned what really is in the tacos?

But, alas, curiosity won out.


So, here’s a rundown on what is touched upon this interesting article.

1. We have healthy options, but they’ll cost you more.
My take: Big fat surprise there. For a good portion of my teenage and 20-something life, I did not eat red meat. The cost of any fast food chicken sandwich was always, always way more than a burger. And now, don’t get me started on how ridiculously priced a veggie burger is at Burger King (yes, they sell them … and to clarify, I only craved this mayo-slathered monster during my first pregnancy).

2. Don’t expect much from our school fundraisers.
My take: I have a little experience with fundraising for Team in Training. I steer clear of fast food joints. I know some have had some luck getting a percentage of a meal donated, but I’ve never been totally sure if it’s worth the effort. Anyone have luck with these?

3. Those value meals can be awfully expensive.
My take: I’ve figured this one out. When training for the half-marathon this year, I craved a cheese and egg biscuit sandwich (ordered at McDonald’s, and just pulled the flabby bacon off). I never wanted the hashbrowns that came in the value meal. As tempted as that “value” could be, I usually ordered my breakfast a la cart and saved some moolah.

4. Our smiling faces make you spend.
My take: Who knew?

5. Good luck opening a franchise.
My take: Again, another one I didn’t know about (or care about).

6. Food isn’t the only thing we serve fast.
My take: This one’s a gross one. Not that kind of gross, sicko, the food-borne illness kind of gross.

7. Don’t like our building? We’ll change it.
My take: I’ve seen some interesting facades for fast food chains while traveling, particularly McDonald’s. They do try to fit in to the neighborhood, which is a good thing, I suppose.

8. Our food may be cheap. Our stocks, not so much.
My take: Interesting thing to consider if you’re into that stock market sort of thing.

9. We’re keeping soft drink prices low.
My take: No kidding. It seems every place is offering larger drinks for the same price (a buck seems to be a popular choice). After reading an article (http://drhyman.com/5-reasons-high-fructose-corn-syrup-will-kill-you-5050/ ) on the dangers of high fructose corn syrup, I get chills thinking about what’s in the fountain drink that I crave so much.

10. Those toys aren’t free.
My take: I dread the day my son is old enough to ask for a Happy Meal just for the toy. I was that age once and there were toys I coveted. Maybe by the time he’s old enough, they’ll have options he can actually eat (he’s a vegetarian like mama), and it can be a once-on-a-while splurge.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

