Swim Safety – ‘Drowning Doesn’t Look Like Drowning’

Memorial Day weekend unofficially kicks off summer – anyone else look forward to this time of year? It means barbecues, farmers markets and swimming to me.

Is it weird that everyone in this picture is wearing a swim cap? Anyway…

And now, I don’t have to confine my swimming to the Y’s indoor pool. This weekend, a lot of public outdoor pools will open up for the season.

While I like to write about swimming in terms of how it pertains to triathlons, recreational swimming is a good source of exercise, too – especially if you spend the bulk of it trying to keep up with a youngster.

Not to bum everyone out after getting you to think about basking in the noonday sun as you float around the pool, but I want this post to serve as a sort of public service announcement.

I was referred to an article by another expectant mother that I want to share with you all. It focuses on drowning – or more specifically, how to know when someone is drowning.

The author is a good source. Mario Vittone has 19 years of combined military service in the U.S. Navy and Coast Guard.  His writing on maritime safety has appeared in Yachting, Salt Water Sportsman, On Scene, Lifelines, and at the Naval Safety Center’s Online Resource Site.

Drowning is a fear of mine. Even the strongest swimmers can fall victim to drowning. I developed a whole new level of appreciation for the power of water after a close-call last summer during a seemingly innocent tubing excursion. While in the ER following our accident, the attending doctor told me he had a friend who was a strong swimmer and an expert kayaker – he had a similar experience as mine, but he did not survive.

Please, my active friends, take a look at the article. Many of us will make trips to a lake or beach this summer, in addition to regular visits to the local pool. It’s important to know what drowning really looks like, because it isn’t how it looks on TV.

Get out and enjoy the water, everyone! Just be careful.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Swim Safety – ‘Drowning Doesn’t Look Like Drowning’

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    What an incredible article. I definately learned something new. Thank you for posting.

  2. ticha rohan says:

    so chilling – thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

