How To Save Money While Still Eating Healthy Food

Save money: Buy the basics and buy in bulk

Higher food prices got you down? Nicole German, RD, over at diet blog offered some tips on cutting costs on healthy foods.

Her tips were:
1. Shop In-Season
2. Know Before You Go
3. Buy the Basics
4. Cook at Home More
5. Clip Coupons

If you’ve been paying attention to mass media for the last few years, most of these tips won’t be ground-breaking for you. I was hoping for some sort of strategy I hadn’t considered, but I found methods I already use (though I admit, I’m terrible at coupon clipping).

What I might add to her list is to not only buy the basics, but buy them in bulk. In the long run, you’ll save a lot more money. You’d be amazed by how long a 25-pound bag of brown rice lasts (maybe you won’t be … maybe I’m just easily amazed).

What are your cost-saving tips?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

