Body Confessions

Novelist Diana Spechler knows that we all have body image issues. She began to understand her own when she wrote the book “Skinny,” which came out April 26.

She talked about writing the book and what it led in a recent article published for Time. The book takes place at a weight-loss camp. For a while, she thought she could disconnect herself from her characters. But, she realized in order to make the story not seem so flat, she had to reveal a bit of herself.

The more she revealed, the freer she became.

Wanting to give others this sort of outlet, she created the website Body Confessions. Here, people can anonymously post confessions without fear of bully nation rising up. There are no comments allowed on posts, only a “Been there” button people can hit to offer support.

Spechler said she was surprised by how unbalanced it was in who posted: It was almost all women.

It doesn’t surprise me – does it surprise you? I don’t know a single woman who doesn’t have some sort of hang up on her body, even if it is perfect in my eyes. Guys have that problem too, but I don’t think it’s culturally accepted to discuss it among their friends. When I looked at the website’s first page a few days ago, I saw one post out of 10 written by a guy. Spechler thought it’d be a bit more even.

What do you think of a site like this?

Is it healthy to be able to air these confessions out? There are critics out there that say it’s a trigger, causing some to go back to their old ways of an eating disorder. Others think it’s not good to focus on so much negative.

I think it’s a good outlet. It’s good to know that you’re not alone.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Body Confessions

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I checked out the site…seems a bit depressing to me. I thought my thoughts were bad….

Leave a Reply

