Introducing The Great Outdoors

My husband and I plan on taking our 17-month-old on his first “camping” experience soon. I use the quotation marks because we’re renting a cabin … a couple months ago, I had visions of me trying to roll off an air mattress being 20 weeks pregnant and I thought it’d be funny for everyone involved but me.

In a year or so, we’ll do the tent thing. I’m just not in the mood to be the butt of jokes with this belly right now. Oh, and by “tent thing,” I mean a marked off camp site in a state park that’s near a toilet. Admittedly, I love the outdoors, but I’m not hardcore. I’m not experienced in extended hiking, days-long backpacking or anything like that.

I’m excited about introducing my son to the Great Outdoors, though. What’s the youngest you’ve taken a child camping (or in our case, staying indoors next to nature)?

I’ve started a packing list because I’m hyper-organized like that, and because I tend to forget things when packing for my son. For something like this, I’m all about overpacking for every scenario. I’m curious, though – What do you recommend bringing on camping trips? I’m pretty sure my son can entertain himself with dirt, but I’m wondering what extras to bring along.

And, we’re going to attempt a hike with him. I’m realistic enough to know this could be a very short hike but also a very fun one (read here). The last time we took the little guy on a trail hike, he was very portable and loved sitting in his carrier. Now, he’s all about freedom and often insists on walking. Any tips on hiking with a toddler?

I’ll post something about our little trip once we get back, but in the mean time, read this neat story about an adventurous mom coming to terms with her previous life and her role now as mother. Her original plan was to take her toddler on a 212-mile hiking trip and how plans changed drastically and what they both learned from it.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

