The Pregnant Chicken Sheds Some Pounds

A couple months ago, a friend tipped me off to a brilliantly funny blog, www.pregnantchicken.com (thank you, Lauren). I mostly look through the blog’s archives to read Amy Morrison’s take on pregnancy and motherhood (there are posts that make me laugh so hard I, I alternate between crying and making a beeline to the bathroom).

But, this month, Morrison took a turn in her postings. She started a weight-loss journey. A hilarious weight-loss journey. She combined a healthy eating plan created by Sprout Right and a butt-kicking workout using “Jillian Michael’s Shred.”

This week was the end of the month-long chronicling of her diet, though it sounds like she will try to keep up the “Shred” part of it. She lost 5 pounds and almost 2 inches off her thighs and hips, an inch off her chest and a whole 3-and-a-half inches off her waist. Her husband lost over 12 pounds.

If you want a little inspiration, or perhaps just a good laugh, I recommend reading the past five posts (she blogs weekly), starting with “Mother******* Baby Weight” (Did I forget to mention she gets into sailor cursing mode from time to time?).

The “before” and “after” pictures she posted on this particular post alone are worth checking out. Comic genius.

Here she describes in the post that launched it all why she started this journey: “As far as I’m concerned, we are genetically predisposed to hold onto our fat when we have an infant in case of drought or locusts so I think every mother gets a year pass after having a baby. At least. “That said, my son will be turning 3 in June and I’m still carrying a lot of that extra weight I gained in my pregnancy. I think it’s safe to say that I no longer have baby weight and it’s just ‘fat.’ … So here I am today, fatter than I want to be and needing to do something about it.”

Morrison follows up with postings aptly named “Losing It – Week 1,” “Losing It – Week 2” and so on.

Enjoy!

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Nutrition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

