Hey Ladies

You’ve heard of women-only running events, but are you familiar with women-only triathlons? There is a nationwide series called Athleta Iron Girl that offers mostly spring-distance triathlons are cool destinations like Las Vegas, Lake Tahoe and New Orleans. The 2011 series, featuring 13 events, is listed here.
I’m a planner and I’m thinking about my get-back-into-shape goal race for next year, one that’s about six months after I have this baby. I have my eye on the race that kicks off the series each year, the Athleta Iron Girl Las Vegas Women’s Triathlon. Held at the end of April, it sounds like a great get-away and a challenging race.

Ever the practical one, my husband has pointed out that we’d (A) have to bring our then 2 ½ year old and 6 month old children; (B) coordinate breastfeeding stops in a desert race with a man juggling two children on his own; and (C) not enjoy Vegas at all with two children. Hmmm. Who wants to come with us and babysit?

Thought I’d ask.

Most likely, I’ll be looking at a race closer to home.

But, take a look at this series and start daydreaming. What race would you do this year? What about next year? Want to set a big goal?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Triathlon and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hey Ladies

  1. Nicole Bormann says:

    I think you just need to find a fellow “mum and dad” to join in the efforts! The dads can help one another out and the mums can enjoy a day of selfish bodily torture! Hmmm. SO tempting. 🙂 Love your blog. Keep it up!

  2. kareiner says:

    Great idea, Nicole. When are you back stateside? 😉

Leave a Reply

