Ready For A 100-Day Challenge?

If you’ve been reading this blog from the beginning, you may have picked up that I have a certain reverence for John “The Penguin” Bingham. He’s the man that inspired me throughout my slow start to running and getting on track fitness-wise.

One of my favorite running quotes comes from him: “If you run, you are a runner. It doesn’t matter how fast or how far. It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years. There is no test to pass, no license to earn, no membership card to get. You just run.”

At the start of 2011, Bingham put out a challenge to his Facebook friends. He asked people to commit to being active 100 days straight. There was no requirement as to what constituted as activity, you just had to make a conscious effort to do some form of movement/activity each day for 30 minutes, be it walking, a gym class, swimming or dancing around the house.

It was aptly called the 100 Day Challenge. It was a great idea with very little commitment. Bingham just wanted to encourage people to be a little more active without making people intimidated by prescribing what exactly they should do. I tried to do it, but it turned that some days, I’d rather nurse my morning sickness in bed than on a treadmill.

Well, the 100 Day Challenge has been renewed. If you’re interested in joining the movement, check out the Facebook page here. There’s no cost to join. There will be no one hunting you down to be sure you actually did the 30-minute activity you promised you’d do each day. There is also no prize, except for the satisfaction of knowing you made a commitment to your health and kept it.

What have you got to lose? What have you got to gain?

In the great words of Bingham: Waddle on my friends.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready For A 100-Day Challenge?

  1. Krystal S says:

    Okay Kim, I joined the 100 day challenge! It is okay to hunt me down and make sure I’m holding true to the challenge. Thanks for the encouragement.

Leave a Reply

