Our Last Long Run – Bring On The Taper!

The final 10-miler is done, folks. Put to bed. No more “long runs” before May 1.

Photo illustration of what’s going on in my head

Bring on the taper!

This morning’s 7 a.m. run started at Lake Zorinski in West Omaha … which now looks like apocalyptic Nebraska with the water drained, showing the lake’s collection of random tires and cement blocks. It used to be a pretty run, and I guess it still is, as long as you don’t look in the lake’s direction. At least I can see deer in the city from time to time there.

Anyway.

My hope was to have the whole Omaha-based team out at the lake for our final long run. But, life gets in the way. A few are nursing injuries. There were family needs to attend to and work obligations and volunteer commitments that can’t be escaped. And, yeah, there were a couple teammates who didn’t offer excuses.

So, four brave souls made it – me, my sister and her husband, and my dad. The temperature hovered in the low 40s and the wind topped 50 mph (OK, it just felt like it did).

I ran with my dad this morning. I hadn’t run with him since our first 5-mile run, an early point in our training when my dad wasn’t too committed to the idea of incorporating running into training. This morning, he ran most of the 10 miles, so it was great to see how far he has come along.

Our pace was slow, but steady. And hey – only one bathroom stop!

I didn’t mind our finish time (about 2 1/2 hours … the time I finished my first half-marathon). Our miles were about 3 minutes slower than my pace a few months ago, but I’m almost 19 weeks into my pregnancy, so I’m glad I got my butt off the tempting couch.

However, my 60-year-old dad was a little disappointed with our finish time. I told him to be happy we finished, and to not discount the effect 30 mph wind can have on a run.

So, that’s my lengthy final run report. Not too exciting.

For those who celebrate it, have a happy Easter! I’m going to take it easy, though I plan on chasing a toddler as he takes on his first Easter egg hunts ever.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our Last Long Run – Bring On The Taper!

  1. Ticha says:

    Way to go, Kim. I’m way impressed at your dedication to training while pregnant!

Leave a Reply

