Bacon Gets Its Day?

OK, I’m not going to lie, I know bacon tastes good on things. I know that. I haven’t eaten it in a few years, but I’ll agree with the bacon lovers of the world – it tastes good.

However, Denny’s new promotion, “Baconalia,” is not making my vegetarian heart yearn for any of its offerings. If I ever eat bacon again, it sure as heck won’t be at Denny’s, and it sure as heck won’t be a bacon meatloaf. Yuck.

Have you heard about this promotion or seen the commercials? Read about the marketing angle here.

They’ve spotted a trend, and they’re running with it. From the adage.com article mentioned above, “bacon has been garnering an increase in consumer demand. It’s the most preferred type of pork for entree salads, and consumers say that most sandwiches are more appealing with bacon, signaling opportunities for restaurants to offer the pork product as an add-on, according to Technomic’s Beef & Pork Consumer Trend Report.”

So Denny’s is just answering the love song called out by this country’s bacon lovers. Can’t hate them for that, right? Well, in the words of the first poster to comment on the article, here is my thought on it: “Two words come to mind…disgusting and obesity!”

The dietblog addressed the promotion’s “pièce de résistance,” the maple bacon sundae. Salty and sweet, does this pique your interest at all?

Um, no. I like pretzels in my yogurt, I like that touch of salt on sweet stuff. I just can’t imagine it is worth blowing my diet at Denny’s. Maybe I’m an food elitist … I’d probably have a bite if it were offered at a fine dining establishment.

After all, I’ve seen what good chefs can do with good bacon (“Top Chef” has proven that anything with bacon will beat out most other dishes). I’m just skeptical that Denny’s is going to offer anything other than thin, flabby slices of commercial bacon.

OK. Enough Denny’s bashing.

In spite of what I have written, anyone tempted to head to Denny’s to try any of this stuff? Prove me wrong and tell me how wonderful it is.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bacon Gets Its Day?

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    That just sounds disgusting. I definately won’t be getting that…and the maple bacon sundae…EW!

Leave a Reply

