How To Be An Adventurous Eater

I like trying new foods, new recipes and new restaurants. If I find a great dish at a restaurant, I may not order it again for a while because I want to order something new and see if I luck out a second time.

Fortunately, I married a fellow adventurous eater.

It is through our experiments with recipes and world cuisines that we’ve learned to like things like kale, hummus and red cabbage prepared in an excellent German dish. So, what I’m saying is that being a little adventurous with your food might help you not only expand your cooking repertoire, it might make it a little healthier.

A few days ago, Cooking Channel host Aida Mollenkamp gave the food blog Eatocracy her five tips for becoming an adventurous eater.

If you’re reluctant to branch out, take a look at her list.

I have a few more to add, and if you have any additional tips, please post them in the comments section below!

1. Make it a goal to try one new fruit or vegetable a week. You might have to look up a way to prepare it – or if it’s a particularly funky, new thing for you, how to even peel or consume it. That’s OK. It’s part of the adventure. You might find a new favorite recipe.

I’ve tried some stinkers along the way, but I learned I really like sweet potatoes when I was on this new food kick. For that, I am thankful. This goal is pretty fun to test out during farmers market season, by the way.

2. Try a theme night for dinner. My husband and I have a tradition we started a few years ago. We pick a country we’d like to visit. We look up recipes for a full dinner (usually an appetizer/soup, entrée, side dish and dessert), traditional drinks and if we’re really on the ball, we’ll order a travel DVD and a movie from that country on Netflix. Make it an evening, and prepare the meal together.

This special dinner not only introduces you to new foods and flavors, you also learn cooking techniques.

OK, my fellow food lovers. Do you have any other tips for adventurous eating?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

