The Unhealthy Obsession With Celebrity Appearances

We live in a culture that is obsessed with appearances. Fortunately, there are some amazing ladies out there that speak out about it. I’ve read several pieces on Kate Winslet and the actress always makes brilliant points about why weight should be the focus (remember when she called out a magazine for retouching her photo?).

When talking with the BBC, she said “I resent that there is an image of perfection that is getting thinner and thinner. I’ve got a lovely husband and children, and I didn’t lose weight to find those things.” In an interview with Good Housekeeping, she says: “I mean I exercise when I have time … which at the moment is not at all. And when it comes to dieting, I just don’t care. I watch myself as much as any average woman does, you know? I’ll eat one cookie, not a whole box of cookies. But I’ll still eat the one cookie … sometimes two, or even three. But not the whole box.”

Image courtesy Getty Images

This week, Neve Campbell joined in the conversation about body image. Originally run at www.health.com, I read it on CNN’s website here.

The 37-year-old talks about how it felt to be criticized in the media last year when photos of her in a bikini came out last year. Understandably, it was terrible for her. Not that I’d ever be in a bikini, but if I were to be in one, I’d be horrified if even one other person saw a photo of me in it.

“The annoying thing to me is that I’m in great shape, and I’m strong, and I take care of myself,” she says. “I might have been five pounds heavier in that photo than what people expect. But I’m a human being, I’m on holiday, leave me alone! [Laughs.]”

She also talks about the pressure to be thin when she was younger and about watching fellow dancers make themselves sick to be thinner. It wasn’t for her.

“I watched too many of my dancer friends throwing up. They’d end up really sick, or in the hospital, or not being able to have children. And I won’t do that to myself. Maybe I’m not a stick, but I’m really healthy and happy, and I think I look good.”

That’s a mindset I wish for everyone to have.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

