Oh Man, Another Superfruit? Is It Really That Miraculous?

Yum. Looks “super.” (photo courtesy http://www.fooducate.com)

I read in a dietblog today, which had a post about the latest “superfruit” to be marketed is called the baobab. I’ve heard of the tree, but didn’t know there was a fruit to go with it.

OK, I admit I’m a sucker for “superfoods,” and when comparing food, I opt for whatever has the higher nutritional value (spinach over iceberg lettuce, for example). But for some reason, I become skeptical of these “superfruits” that pop up on infomercials and “Oprah.”

The acai was a hot one for a while, then I heard a lot about aronia berries (or choke berries). Now this. The blog I mentioned above had a pdf file comparing the baobab to several other miracle superfruits (conveniently, this pdf looks compiled by a biased marketer, but at least it provides links to show where all the nutritional data came from). I looked up the aronia berry’s nutritional facts, for the heck of it, to compare as well.

If the comparison chart is to be believed, the baobab is a mighty good fruit. Dare I say, super?

An old Fooducate.com blog post from a few years back said the fruit can be consumed raw but most likely, it will be shipped to the U.S. in powder form to be consumed in shakes, energy bars and other processed foods.

Does it mean I’m going to seek it on my next shopping trip? Nope. I’m about three superfruits behind on the trend scene. Haven’t even tried those acai berries (not until I learn how to pronounce them correctly).

Besides that, the first poster to the blog mentioned above expressed my sentiments exactly:

“God put certain foods in our environment to provide for the people that inhabited that environment. A superfood shouldn’t be necessary if one is getting a proper diet in the first place. It’s called balance and variety. I just see this as another marketing ploy that people will waste their money on, complaining that they don’t see results because they are drinking the baobab while washing down bacon and eggs and a pop-tart for breakfast.”

What do you think? Will you try this hot “new” thing (they’re not really new, they’ve been around for millennia … some have been found in Egyptian pyramids)? Let me know if you try something with baobab in it – I’m curious if you get super powers or something.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

