Meet Terry Hitchcock

“…we all have our daily marathons. You get up in the morning and have that marathon ahead of you. Some days or marathons are going to be easier than others and some are going to be really tough. I made it. I ran my marathon. I think everybody can see it as an example that they too can be successful in their daily marathons. I had to overcome numerous things to get there. In the end we have to take a look at life and be open to understanding how we should live it. And we’ve got to use the most out of the gifts we’ve been given.”
– Terry Hitchcock


Terry Hitchcock doesn’t look like your typical marathon runner. In fact, when he set the impossible goal of running 75 marathons in 75 days, he wasn’t a runner at all. But, the man who had lost his wife to breast cancer, becoming a single parent suddenly, he realized his calling. He wanted to bring attention to the difficult lives of single parents.

His truly amazing story – one I can’t even read about without getting a little teary-eyed – was told in the documentary “My Run.”  “My Run” will be aired in theaters this Thursday only. If you live in Nebraska, it’s showing at four theaters (three in Omaha, one in Lincoln). But, it’s also showing nationwide. To find out if a theater near you will show it Thursday, and to buy tickets, go here.

I read an interview with Hitchcock at livestrong.com, and I was just blown away by his down-to-earth attitude. He’s not Superman. He struggled. He had very dark moments. Yet, here he is, inspiring a nation.

In the interview, Hitchcock said, “When we’re taking on these big goals we just have to remember that there’s really nothing we can’t do. It’s a matter of figuring out how to do it and believing in yourself and believing that if this is your dream, you can accomplish whatever you set out do.”

If you want to know more about “My Run,” check the movie’s website out.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

