Guilt From Working Out

If you have kids or furbabies, maybe you can relate: I sometimes feel guilty when I’m working out. It happens out on a long ride or run. I start thinking I should be playing with my son. Or walking the dog. Or cleaning out the basement.

Heck, even if you don’t have dependents, I bet you’ve had a running list of things to do go through your mind as you’re on a treadmill.

Usually, I can get that nagging feeling out of my head, but some days, I feel like a bad mom if I’m outside running while my son is in daycare still and my dog is lying on the couch.

When the guilt creeps in, I try to tell myself that exercise keeps me sane, and a sane mom is a happy mom … and a happy mom means a happy family, right? I also tell myself that A) being a fit and healthy mom is best for my family, B) that all this work I’m putting in now means I will be able to keep up with my active toddler in the future and C) it’s way too cold to be jogging with a toddler anyway.

Usually, I can convince myself to not cut the work out short. Usually.

I came across a posted question on the side Parent to Parent that addressed the same guilty feeling. The advice from parents was unanimous: The whole family benefits from a mom’s (or dad’s) wellness.

So, carve out some time for your health. Some things just have to get set aside in order to make life work – I’m looking at you, pile of papers on the kitchen counter and messy bathroom sink.

So, I’m curious. Have you ever felt guilty working out?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guilt From Working Out

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I did feel guilty leaving the furbabies at home. But, once my husband started working over nights, it’s been easier as someone is home with them at all time. There may be 1 or two nights a week that they are left alone. It works for us. Up until then, I would work out in the mornings and he would work out in the afternoons after work.
    Like you said, you just have to fit it in.

Leave a Reply

