Falling For Clipless Pedals

CNN is doing a Fit Nation Triathlon Challenge and one of the participants recently blogged about trying out clipless pedals. Read about her typical experience here. Did she fall? You betcha.

How many of you use clipless pedals on your bikes? Care to share your stories of learning to ride a bike (again)?

I personally love clipless pedals. They make cycling more efficient – you propel yourself forward even as your foot is going up, not just when you push down on the pedal.

I was scared, however, to ride clipless in the beginning. I was training for my first triathlon and the borrowed bike I was using had regular pedals. Early on, I noticed how much faster those with clipless pedals were. So, I figured I needed them.

The day I got my clipless pedals on, I took my bike out for a spin. On a field of grass. I practiced unclipping. I “practiced” falling. I felt ready.

The next long ride with my team came along and there we were, waiting in the driveway about to push off for the ride. I clipped in. I began to pedal. I fell. In the driveway. In front of about 25 people from two separate Team in Training teams.

I didn’t fall again on that ride, nor did I fall during any of my races. I won’t and say I never fell again because of my clipless pedals, though.

If you can look on the bright side of falling because of your pedals, it’s that you tend to fall when you are stopped or coming to a stop or moving very, very slowly. So, besides a bruised ego and maybe a bruised hip, the fall isn’t going to hurt.

The speed and energy efficiency of clipless pedals more than make up for a little ego damage.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

