Preventing Game-Ending Injuries

I’m a little paranoid about being injured when I’m training for a race. During my first marathon, I suffered from some ankle issues that called for long periods of running in the pool in order to recover. It was boring, but at least I wasn’t completely sidelined.

My husband, on the other hand, wrecked his knee enough to be completely pulled from training for a half-marathon. He was extremely disappointed, but all his doctor could say was he SOL.

We’re both have plans to do a half-marathon in May. So far <knock on wood>, so good.

I think with experience comes knowledge of what it takes to make sure you don’t get injured. My first marathon’s training schedule called for five days of running. And I thought I had to run the whole time to be training properly. Ugh. Now, it’s three, maybe four days, tops, and I incorporate walking into my runs.

I end up feeling better at the end of my runs and even with the walks added in, my time does not suffer.

That’s the way to go, according to Jeff Galloway. Galloway pioneered group training programs in 1978 that led thousands to finish marathons injury-free (read more about him here).

His training schedules have led to a wave of new marathoners who follow his RUN-WALK-RUN, low-mileage, three-day suggestions to a more than 98% success rate. So, I trust the guy.

Galloway wrote an article for active.com with suggestions on how to run injury-free. The first tip? Fewer days of training per week.

Why?

He has found that all but Olympic candidates and world-record aspirants can be just as fit and perform just as well running every other day.

His other tips are pretty good too. Here they are:
–          Go slower on the long runs
–          More walk breaks
–          Don’t stretch if you have an ache, pain or injury
–          Be careful with speed training
–          Never push through pain, inflammation or loss-of-function.

What are some of your tips for preventing injuries?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

