Aw, Nuts

Nuts. Can you have them while on a diet or not?

You can welcome back almonds and walnuts and other tasty treats back into your diet – they’re an excellent source of nutrients and a good thing to include in a regular, healthy diet. The Mayo Clinic lists many reasons why nuts are heart healthy.

Sadly, they’ve gotten a bum rap over the years – Oh no, they’re high in calories! And high in fat! – but one blogger at the Diet Blog has pointed out studies that show nuts have a negligible impact on weight.

Hooray!

A good tip is to eat nuts in place of something, not in addition to something. So, don’t scarf a handful of cashews and then dig into a bag of BBQ Fritos. Forgo the unhealthy processed snack you had planned for mid-afternoon and nibble on some raw almonds. You’ll feel fuller longer, meaning you’ll stay satisfied longer.

But wait. Before you tear into that family-size bag of cashews, read on.

Like most foods, moderation is important. Count out serving sizes before digging in – at the bottom of this link you will find exactly how many almonds, walnuts, etc. are in an ounce serving.

I like to crumble walnuts and add them to my cereal or oatmeal in the morning or to a salad at lunch. My husband keeps a bag of raw almonds at work to combat the mid-day slump. How do you fit nuts into your diet?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Aw, Nuts

  1. Kelly Robinson says:

    I do the same thing as Kevin…I have a bag of raw almonds in my desk drawer. Definately beats the mid-day slump for me. Sometimes I pair them with a fruit.

Leave a Reply

