Mapping Your Training Routes

The Internet is a wonderful workout tool. If you’re following a specific training schedule, you might find yourself estimating your mileage for each workout. If you want an accurate distance, I recommend www.mapmyride.com.

I’ve been a fan of the website for a few years. I’ve used it to map long bike rides and short runs. It’s user-friendly, just click the mouse along the path you intend to take and it calculates the mileage.

It’s also easy to e-mail friends the route you’ve mapped. It’s already come in handy for my running group.

You can also browse a list of routes others in your hometown have designed. The site offers details to help you find a route that matches your planned difficulty level, and you can check how hilly or rugged the route is as well.

This feature of the site is particularly handy when you’re on vacation. When we were in Minneapolis for a wedding one summer, I looked up a running route near my hotel to keep up with my training.

I found another site that offers route mapping. I have yet to use this Livestrong tool, but you may find it useful. It has more than 20,000 “loops” or routes saved as well. It seems pretty similar to http://www.mapmyride.com, though it has the added bonus of an elevation map.

The good thing about the livestrong.com website is that it boasts a Map It & Track It tool, where you can keep track of calories consumed and calories burned. So, if you record a “loop,” you can track the calories burned from it as well (the site lets you enter in your weight, estimated speed and other data). This is an excellent tool for those on a weight loss plan.

I have yet to fully explore the livestrong.com website, but the more features I find on it, the more I think those with fitness and health goals ought to check it out.

Any fans out there of mapmyride or the livestrong “loops”?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking, General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

