The Post-Run Reward

Warning: While I usually like to keep this blog focused on healthy food, from time to time, we need to indulge. No judging, got it?

Admit it. You’ve got a secret post-run reward, that special something that gets you to the end of your long run or ride.

Is it sweet? Is it savory? Is it a beer?

I was purusing some blogs Saturday morning and came across one running mommy who had blogged last year about her sweet find: Cupcakes. She had discovered a new cupcake shop that opened up along her usual long run route. Perfect, right?

Some people who know me know that I often spend my long runs thinking about what I’m going to eat afterward. It gets me through them. I don’t have an absolute must-eat post-run treat. Life’s too short to limit yourself, right?

But, I think I lean toward a savory reward. It’s a tough call on my favorite long run treat, but I’d have to say a hearty eggy breakfast – and something cheesy perhaps. A sit-down breakfast is preferable (mmm, Leo’s Diner or maybe Wheatfields), but if time’s an issue, I’m embarrassed to say a fast food breakfast sandwich would make the cut – just peel off the meat they slap on it and I’m a satiated camper.

If my long run ends after a suitable breakfast time, then I think my go-to picks are pizza and occasionally, Chinese food.

I spent many a nice Sunday afternoons after long rides training for America’s Most Beautiful Bike Ride eating Mama’s Pizza – at the time I was nursing and my son had a dairy intolerance and that place had a top-knotch vegan pizza. Yum.

What are you favorite post-workout reward? Is there a restaurant on the way home from the gym you hit from time to time? Go on, admit.

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Biking, General Fitness, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

