True Grits and the King’s Beans

Photo courtesy of Big Girls, Small Kitchen

True Grits. How’s that for a recipe tie-in to a movie?

If you’re pop culture challenged, let me be the first to inform you the Academy Awards are Sunday night.

Oscar parties abound. USAToday.com had a story on Oscar party food and it got me thinking, can these parties have healthy food but keep the fun names?

Several sites have compiled healthy Oscar recipes to help hosts plan for a fun Sunday night. Check them out below.

The first I checked out was on www.shine.com. I’m not sure what makes these low-fat appetizers Oscar-worthy. No fun names here. Maybe you just have to come up with the creative names for them yourself. “The King’s Beans,” anyone?

Here’s another site touting healthy Oscar recipes. The recipes sound good, but like shine.com, they’re missing the film tie-in names I love.

Maybe my Oscar party standards are high.

Cookinglight.com came the closest with their offerings for entrees, desserts and cocktails here. Boston Crème Pie for “The Fighter” and Black and White Striped Cookies for “Black Swan”? Fine. They aren’t funny names, but at least there’s a connection.

The best I found was Big Girls, Small Kitchen’s take on Oscar food. Are the recipes healthy? No. But they sound pretty good and I love the names, so it wins. 127 Minutes Wingless Chickens – classic. Great blog name, by the way.

Anyone have any ideas for other recipes names that tie in with Oscar nominated films?

About kareiner

I'm an active mom who loves to cook. I'm passionate about health and fitness. I'm no expert, nutritionist, personal trainer or miracle worker. I just like being active and I like good food.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

